Dr. Kimberly Dick-Thelander
Recipient of the 2012 Harold M. Manasevit Young Investigator Award

Prof. Thelander has in total published 65 scientific papers in peer-reviewed international journals, which have received in total more than 1900 citations and just in the year 2011, 500 citations. This includes 4 review papers and 4 papers in conference proceedings (peer-reviewed and indexed by ISI Web of Science, WoS). Prof. Dick-Thelander has an h-index of 20.  Of the 65 papers, Prof. Dick-Thelander is first author of 19 papers (one of which is a single-author paper) and co-first author of 1 more. In total Prof. Dick-Thelander is last author of 6 published papers to date.

Prof. Dick-Thelander moved from University of Waterloo, Canada, to the division of Solid State Physics at Lund University in 2003, to study MOVPE-growth of semiconductor nanostructures. Specifically, Prof. Dick-Thelander conducted a research project where multi-generational branched “nanotree” structures were fabricated from semiconductor nanowires. The first publication in this project (with Prof. Dick-Thelander as first author) was published in Nature Materials in 2004, titled “Synthesis of branched nanotrees by controlled seeding of multiple branching events”, with more than 300 citations to date (WoS).

Also during the PhD period, Prof. Dick-Thelander became interested in understanding the mechanism by which semiconductor nanowires form during MOVPE. Six papers on this subject were published during Prof. Dick-Thelander’s PhD research period, including “Failure of the vapor-liquid-solid mechanism Au-assisted MOVPE growth of InAs nanowires” and “A new understanding of Au-assisted growth of III-V nanowires”, which have more than 150 and 70 citations respectively (WoS); Prof. Dick-Thelander is first author on both of these. In total Prof. Dick-Thelander was first author of 13 papers published during the PhD period and published also an extensive single-author review paper on the fundamental processes of nanowire growth, titled “A Current Understanding of Particle-assisted Nanowire Growth: with emphasis on Au-assisted III-V nanowires”.

During and after the PhD period Prof. Dick-Thelander also set up collaboration with the research group of Dr. Frances Ross at IBM Yorktown in USA, focused on the fabrication of nanostructures inside a transmission electron microscopy, to gain a more detailed understanding of the processes involved in fabrication and how these determine properties. Prof. Dick-Thelander’s first research visit to IBM in 2006 resulted in the publication “Morphology of axial and branched nanowire heterostructures” in 2007, which has received more than 60 citations to date (WoS). Two more research visits in 2007 and 2008 have secured further collaboration and an additional publication. This collaboration has continued with several more visits to IBM by Prof. Dick-Thelander’s PhD student (who has also published a joint paper).

Following the post-doctoral period, Prof. Dick-Thelander begun a position as assistant professor at Lund University; this position is jointly distributed between the divisions of Solid State Physics and Polymer & Materials Chemistry. Epitaxial nanowire growth is performed at the division of Solid State Physics, while TEM is performed at the division of Polymer & Materials Chemistry.

Since 2008 Prof. Dick-Thelander has worked extensively in the area of crystal phase control in nanowires. This is a topic of crucial importance to potential applications within the nanowire field, since it offers unique opportunities (new materials unavailable in bulk systems) but also major challenges (random uncontrolled phase mixtures are common and detrimental to device properties). The importance of this work to the nanowire community is evidenced by the enormous number of research groups and results entering the field in the past few years, and the substantial interest received by published papers: one of the first papers on this topic, “Controlled polytypic and twin-plane superlattices in III-V nanowires”, on which Prof. Dick-Thelander is designated co-first author, was published in Nature Nanotechnology in 2009 and has received more than 100 citations to date (WoS). In total Prof. Dick-Thelander has given 14 invited conference presentations, including several at large major international conferences such as American Physical Society (APS) meeting, Materials Research Society (MRS) meeting, and International Microscopy Congress (IMC), as well as smaller focused international conferences and workshops in a variety of fields.
Return Home.

2012 Harold M. Manasevit Young Investigator Award
Harold M. Manasevit, November 1, 1927 – March 25, 2008, pioneered metalorganic vapor phase epitaxy (MOVPE), or as Hal and many of his colleagues called it, metalorganic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD) while employed at Autonetics, Division of North American Rockwell in the 1960’s. Hal created the term “MOCVD” to indicate that the chemical vapor deposition process was an extremely flexible approach and could be used to deposit a wide range of materials, including epitaxial, polycrystalline, and amorphous materials. Hal was the first to publish on the growth of III-V semiconductors by MOCVD in 1968, and subsequently reported the heteroepitaxial growth of GaAs, AlAs, AlGaAs, InP, InAlAs, AlN, GaN, and GaP, etc., on sapphire and other oxide substrates. In addition, he was the first to describe the heteroepitaxial growth of II-VI and IV-VI compound semiconductors on insulators and the first to produce superconducting films on insulators.

The impact of Hal’s work on MOCVD is truly extensive. Today, MOCVD is the dominant materials technology used for the production of light-emitting diodes, injection lasers, compound-semiconductor solar cells, advanced high-speed bipolar transistor electronics, avalanche photodiodes, as well as for the deposition of various coatings and thin films.  

Return to Award Guidelines